New Taxonomy

Changes in the names of the Lactobacillus genera

You have probably heard about the new Lactobacillus taxonomy. Based on scientific studies, the international organism in charge of taxonomy has reclassified Lactobacillus species into 25 genera. You can read the article below for more details

Some laboratories have already started to use the new taxonomy.

The changes are as follows:

L. casei
L. rhamnosus
L. paracasei subsp. paracasei

L. brevis

L. farciminis

L. pentosus
L. plantarum subsp. plantarum

L. fermentum
L. reuteri

L. salivarius

Lacticaseibacillus casei
Lacticaseibacillus rhamnosus
Lacticaseibacillus paracasei subsp. paracasei

Levilactobacillus brevis

Compilactobacillus crustorum

Lactiplantibacillus pentosus
Lactiplantibacillus plantarum subsp. plantarum

Limosilactobacillus fermentum
Limosilactobacillus reuteri

Ligilactobacillus salivarius

This taxonomical modification doesn’t change the properties of the strains nor the authorization to use them in food complements or starters.

At the moment THT has not introduced any change in the documentation of its strains and products. The revised Lactobacillus taxonomy will be implemented in THT quality documents from January 1st 2023. Any request can be introduced through your sales account manager.